Black and Blue and Red All Over

May 28, 2008 at 14:27 (Movies, Rants, Reviews, Tech, Video Games) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , )

My second review for Ace Gamez – that motley lot of British game journos fool enough to initiate me into the gang – is up on the front page now.  Click through here to read how I craftily temper my disappointment with Condemned 2: Bloodshot with a diatribe about the heretofore unparallelled genius of the first level of Criminal Origins, the first game in what has become an apparent go-to franchise for F.E.A.R developers Monolith.  I’m perversely pleased that my review has dropped the Metacritic average for the game a point – honestly, the overwhelming enthusiasm with which some press outlets heralded the release of Condemend 2 has me at something of a loss.  It’s a pretty game, to be sure, scary and tense and assuredly excellent at times, but fundamentally flawed; you might even say broken, at least from the halfway point.  Head on over the read the rest.

***

In other news, today marks the fifth day since my 46′ Sharp Aquos LCD took leave of its senses and ran away with some repair-people.  It suffered from excruciating banding since the day I bought it, which – although it wasn’t enough to convince the appaling Sharpserv customer service to sort it out – has since developed into a rather more obvious problem: alternate lines of pixels dying altogether.  Thankfully I sprung for an extended warranty and the repair agent has recommened my insurers cough up on the new-for-old policy I took out.  Excellent news indeed.

But in the meantime, no TV, no games, no Blu-ray.  I’ve been prodigiously productive since my baby left me, but I’d take her back in an instant – if only to tide me over until I can talk my way into a new (and perhaps slightly bigger… oh yes) model.

Later tonight or tomorrow, All Things Uncertain readers can look forward to a spontaneous little riff on what to expect of the spectacular season of Summer movies that await us.  I mostly mean the new Batman, of course.

Leave a Reply

