Crisis on Uncertain Earths

June 30, 2008 at 11:13 (Hype, News, Rants, Video Games) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Well, they’ve only gone and done it.  Kotaku are reporting that Rock Band 2 has been announced – officially this time.  And it’s coming sooner than you might think – sometime in September, which, would you believe it, is less than three months from now.  On the bright side, Harmonix have already sworn that it’ll be the first game “to support fully fuctional cross-title DLC”, and that’s a relief to say the least.

Still.  This wasn’t supposed to be a cash cow.  The dev team are the very best at what they do, and they’re perfectly entitled to roll in the profits of their efforts, but you just know there’s going to be a new set of instruments – sure, you’ll be able to use your old guitars and drums, but the new ones will be better put together; they’ll offer extra functionality, new knobs and waggly bits only true Spartans could resist.  I fear I’m not up to the task.

Just as well I hadn’t gotten around to getting the original Band in a Box, then.  Kiss your £100 goodbye Harmonix.  Admittedly you can probably have it this holiday anyhow, but I won’t take any pleasure in giving it to you.  Oh no!

The Sequel Cometh

Do stroll on over to Ace Gamez for my latest review.  My PSP doesn’t get much use, and not just because it’s pink and I’m not sure I can pull it off, but since I signed on with Geoff and Paul and the rest of the poor fools who maintain the site, it’s been going overdrive.  I guess free pre-release games are all the motivation I need.

It’s been a busy week for my critic’s hat.  (Really though, when they come in the night to sign you up you get one, like a certificate.)  The Crisis Core article has gone live, and it’s a beast.  Much longer than it needed be, but it takes in the whole of the so-called ‘Compilation of Final Fantasy VII‘ and the legacy of that veritable PSone classic.  I scored it somewhere in the middle of the scale (the scale according to metacritic, that is) but I was surprised to see so few of the other reviews pick up on some pretty significant problems – I came to dread unskippable cutscenes and the profusion of load screens that heralded their arrival.  Despite its flaws, though: a great game.

There should be another three reviews – count ’em – in the next while.  I scored Space Invaders Extreme, and although its only an hour long, I love it unconditionally.  I’ve got the 360 version of Battlefield: Bad Company to hunker through too, and my first XBLA review, for Ticket to Ride (which is to say, Catan for trainspotters) is nearly done.  Suffice it to say I’ll be playing all three of these games long after I’m done with reviewing them.

But – damn.  I’ve still got GTA IV to finish and Metal Gear Solid 4 to start; the pile of shame grows ever taller…

Pray tell, whatever happened to the Spring drought? 

***

Soundtrack to this entry: Coheed and Cambria – The Hound (Of Blood and Rank)

Leave a Reply

