The Solace of Certainty

July 8, 2008 at 8:21 (Movies, News, Rants, Reviews, Video Games) (, , , , , , , )

Last week, I booted up my big black shiny lean mean grilling machine to download the 2.4 update.  It brought in-game access to the cross-media bar, apparently, and trophies – as if we need another metric by which to measure our e-penises.  But we all know how this story ends.  The 2.4 firmware borked a few PS3s; Sony shortly withdrew it and returned to their programmer mancaves with hearts weighty with sorrow.  My console survived the update without injury – I suspect most did; crafty fanboy buggers on the internet, you see, they have ways of making you think there are more of them than there are.  I turned it off.

This morning, I turned my PS3 on to download 2.41.  I turned it off again.

I kid you not

When exactly is Metal Gear Solid 5 coming out?

***

Was at work on a few reviews but stalled a bit over the weekend.  We had very lovely visitors and they left me – through no cause of their own devising – a lot tired and a little melancholy.  The urge to write an absolutely bleak short story slumped along and I took it.  She said she’d show me hers if I showed mine first and so.  The misery will continue until I’m done with poor Judd.

In the meantime, there’ll be a few reviews from litle old me at Ace Gamez through the next week.  I’ll link to them in time.  For now, a few trailers for movies that my panties already rock for in anticipation:

But before Bond can rub shoulders with Bourne some more, the Dark Knight himself comes to save us from the clutches of another Summer of truly awful proportions:

He comes, oh yes.

***

Wordtrack to this entry: The Book of the New Sun by Gene Wolfe

4 Comments

  1. Purple_Haze said,

    Apologies for leaving you melancholy. It’s true though, if you show me yours I’ll show you mine. But not in an Alexis way 😉 I just have no faith in mine, Niall. I did get a 2A I am sure, but until I see Glennis’ invaluable comments I maintain that it is shit.

    In other news, The Mist is on everyday at 6pm In Falkirk. If you want to see it then by all means we should go. I’m off until Friday *wheeeeeee!!!* so feel like taking the opportunity and treating this as a mini holiday. We’ll probably go on Wednesday. Would you like to join? I know it may be tight for Miss Nicki, but I can pick her up from work and then we can bomb it straight down the motorway.

    Anyway I best get off. Very grudginlgly The Sopranos beckon. Even if I find that it is seminal I refuse to tell you. What can I say, I am stubborn. I will tell you something though; I am really looking forward to that cop out ending…

    Until next time…

    Kxx

  2. Purple Haze said,

    why is it that your page still says ‘No comments’? Is my comment not worthy of recognition? 😦

  3. allthingsuncertain said,

    The internets don’t hate you, little cat – just my WordPress blog. Fear not for your self-worth, though; I’ve got the option to moderate – and with some of the comments here I’m damn glad of it – but now that you’ve commented once, so long as you keep using the same email address, you shouldn’t need my approval again.

    So. On the fourth day – there were no visits!

    Still, caught up on loads of sleep and getting some serious work done even as I write. Here’s hoping Tony was gentle with you during your first time. And you can hate on The Sopranos all you like, you know – you just have to have seen it.

    Now I make no promises about The Mist. I had a load more fun with it than I’d expected but it’s no Best Picture. Don’t know if we’ll be able to make it with you on Wednesday, though. I’ll talk to the other half when she awakens and we shall see.

    And I feel incredibly bad about bringing your story up. I won’t show you mine until I think it’s ready – and it’s not yet, not really. It’s incredibly bleak and heartfelt and I’m as proud of it as anything I’ve written, but if I mean to do anything with it other than show you (and I don’t know that I do), I’m going to need to face up to that lump in my throat and get to fixing a few things about it. By the same measure, I wouldn’t want to see Adam Anatta until you’re good and ready to share it. I promise not to be critical; I know these things are often closer to us than we’d like to think and if you’d rather not show me yours, as it were, I won’t mention it again. My word.

    That is, so long as we can agree never to speak of the Alexis incidents again.

    I would politely disagree, though, that you are of sound mind and body in saying your story is possibly shit. Whatever Glynnis says, more likely verbs include: graceful, brave, persuasive, provocative and powerful. This story is a little part of you, after all. I’d expect nothing less.

    Maybe that’s why you shouldn’t show me it?

  4. Purple Haze said,

    Looks like I may be able to source that thing a bit closer to home. It’ll save us going an adventure to Edinburgh. I’m working Monday and Tuesday now, but if it comes to it we could go to Edinburgh on Wednesday.

    You should email me with your budget and I’ll see what I can do 😉

Leave a Reply

